The 2017 G.A.A All Star awards took place this past Friday night to honour the best and brightest stars of the season.

The night began with the presentation of the 2017 PWC Hurling All Stars, the 15 is dominated by the All-Ireland finalists with Galway and Waterford making up 12 of the 15. (Galway 7 & Waterford 5) There were also spots for Padraic Maher of Tipperary and Mark Coleman & Patrick Horgan of Cork.

2017 Hurling All-Star team. Picture taken from The GAA Twitter page

It was a great year for Galway hurling and this is emphasised with their domination of the All Star team. It is also the first time since 2013 that no Kilkenny player has made it into the team but few would be surprised by this following their poor campaign.

The young hurler of the year for 2017 was Conor Whelan, the 21 year old had a terrific campaign in the forwards for Galway. The NUI Galway man had quite the year in 2017, winning his first Leinster Championship & All-Ireland Championship and topping it off by claiming two individual awards.

Hurler of the year was Joe Canning, the 29 year-old scored an impressive 3-93 between the League and Championship. This included scoring 0-46 on Galways run to becoming All-Ireland champions for the first time in 29 years. Few could make an argument against this selection with Canning being the stand-out superstar of the 2017 hurling season.

It was a very exciting hurling season and hopefully we will see the same level of quality and excitement in 2018!

2017 GAA All-Star team. Picture taken from The GAA Twitter page

The 2017 All-Star team was dominated by the All-Ireland finalists, Dublin and Mayo. The finalists making up 13 of the 15.(Dublin 7 & Mayo 6) There were also spots for Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh and Kerry’s Paul Geaney.

It was yet another great year for the dominating Dubs, another All-Ireland win and the third season in a row that they have dominated the All-Star team. Few could argue the players didn’t deserve their place in the team.

The young footballer of the year was Con O’Callaghan. The 21 year old had a great year, winning Club All-Ireland hurling, U21 football and All-Ireland football medals in 2017. Not a bad year for the Cuala man who looks like he has all the attributes to be a football superstar over the next 10 years.

The footballer of the year was Mayo’s Andy Moran, the 34 year old enjoyed a terrific individual season scoring an impressive 3-24 from play in 10 games for his county. Moran is the oldest man to ever win the football of the year award but with his scoring stats few would argue with the decision. For the second year in a row Dublin have won the All-Ireland but a Mayo man has won the individual award, although I am sure they would trade the individual awards for an All-Ireland medal.


It wasn’t the most exciting football season with Dublin dominating again, a little composure in the fist game would certainly have seen Mayo win their first All-Ireland for 66 years but you can’t afford the give this Dublin team a second chance, as Mayo learned yet again. It’s a huge off-season for the county players and hopefully they can work hard and make it a more exciting season in 2018.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s